Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Canberra, my home of 6 years as a little

    April 13, 2016 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    Drove through Canberra. We moved there when I wad 18 months and left when I was 7. Strange town. Planned and built simply to be the Capital of Australia. Not very diverse and full of government type people and diplomats.

    But a beautiful city with lots of museums, parks and centered around a large lake. Oh and apparently 340,000+ kangaroos.

    Went passed my elementary school and old home. Weird and cool to see where I learnt how to walk, talk, read and write, among other things!

    From there we made our way to Merimbula but unfortunately got there after dark. We came down a pretty long mountain and I'm sure it was beautiful.

    Got to the Airbnb which was nice but it was full on holiday flat. No supplies at all. So we cooked our gluten free pasta sans oil, added canned tomato sauce and frozen green beans sans salt and pepper. Thank goodness I took some snacks from the plane that included peri peri and red pepper spreads that I added for some flavor. Slumming it we were! Ended the night with drinks and cards. Not bad at all.
    Read more