Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Athens sightseeing

    September 24, 2022 in Greece ⋅ ☀️ 25 °C

    Athens... I've always wanted to visit this city
    So much history and culture there, its the birthplace of our modern society and I just cannot believe I finally got here....

    I wanted to visit the Acropolis, since I am travelling on a strict budget to extend my travels as long as possible I wasn't really looking forward to pay 30+ euros to visit all these ancient sites but i wanted to visit them anyway

    I got to the acropolis and wanted to take a pass for all the ancient sites, but the woman told me its free admission day today...

    I couldn't believe this, I did some research on Google and apparantly it was european heritage weekend which meant that a lot of european musea were free that weekend...

    So I could visit all ancient sites in Athens for free, which is really the best thing that could happen in Athens to a budget traveller 😁

    It was the right decision to follow my gut feeling and take the train to Athens already the night before
    Read more