Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 46

    From Valbona to Kosovo

    October 31, 2022 in Kosovo ⋅ 🌙 14 °C

    This morning I woke up early to continue the hike to Valbona

    I didn't sleep well so I was really tired and I didn't feel like doing the hike to Maja Jezerces so i continued to hike to Valbona

    After about 2 hours I finally reached Valbona, I still didn't knew what to do
    Would i do another hike and do some camping? Or would I hike or hitchhike to Kosovo?

    I decided to try to hitchhike to Kosovo, but because there was close to none traffic on this road I started walking already

    2 hours passed and still not a single car had passed, I almost gave up on the idea to get to Kosovo today and I was planning to just hike for a while and pitch my tent in the evening

    Until finally a car passed me, I stuck out my thumb and the car stopped
    The driver did not speak any english, but he was calling with a friend and his friend did speak english, so I explained him that i wanted to go to Kosovo but if he would drop me in Bajram Curri it would be okay for me (Bajram Curri was the nearest bigger town)

    He dropped me in Bajram Curri, there is a direct road from Bajram Curri to Kosovo, after a while I got another ride from an old guy, he didn't speak any english but he was going to Kosovo

    I told him I wanted to go to Prizren, he answered me in albanian, I had no clue what he said but the only thing I understood was that he wasn't going to Prizren, well, let's see where we end up

    In the end he drove me to Gjakova, about 15 kms from the border with Albania
    I was planning to hitchhike further to Prizren or Prishtina but after a walk in this town I decided to stay here for a night, it seems like a nice town so let's explore it a bit 😁
    Read more