Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 80

    Karosta Prison

    December 4, 2022 in Latvia ⋅ ☁️ 0 °C

    Today I made a day trip from Riga to Karosta Prison

    Karosta Prison is a former military soviet prison

    The prison has been built around 1900 as a hospital but was never used as such, it serves as a military prison

    It was used as a prison to serve temporary disciplinary punishments for army soldiers until 1997

    I took the bus early in the morning to Liepaja, it was a 3h30 mins ride

    Shortly after noon I arrived at the prison, it was 7 euros for a tour and it could only be done with a guide, I was the only foreigner doing the tour, together with me was another lithuanian man so the tour would be in both russian for him and english for me

    For the lithuanian man it was a very special visit...
    He has been in this prison for 2 weeks, he served as a soldier in the Soviet Union military and he was responsible for an accident that almost killed someone (it had something to do with water pressure, but since he didnt speak much english he couldnt explain it really well)

    The guide told me some interesting facts about the prison but the things the lithuanian man told me were even more interesting as these were real experiences from him

    It was a really interesting day and not just the standard tourist attraction because this prison is really authentic, everything in this prison is still the same as when they abandoned the prison
    Read more