Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 34

    Westbound

    July 5, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 72 °F

    For the vast majority of our Camino we have been westbound. (If you don’t believe me, just check out the tan on the back of Sean’s neck, legs, and arms! He may have to walk back to St. Jean just to even out his tan. Lol! Just kidding, Sean!)

    One of the joys of walking westbound has been the fields of sunflowers! I’m certain that we were seeing fields of them early on, but didn’t recognize them as such because they hadn’t yet flowered.

    But due to the season and how long we’ve been walking they are now in full bloom. And because they always face the sun, they are also facing us as we walk westward.

    I apologize that I don’t have a picture of a full field to do justice to this article. I was struck by how many fields we saw yesterday (without thinking to take a pic), decided to write this during the night, and then didn’t see a single field today! Just this one lonely, but beautiful sunflower.

    Sean assured me we’ll still see more, and I hope he’s right, but not in Astorga, and perhaps not after we make the jump to Sarria, so I’m posting this now just in case.

    If we see another field I’ll be sure to take the pic and post it. They are SO bright and joyful!
    Read more