Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 40

    Final Thoughts

    July 11, 2023 in France ⋅ ☀️ 86 °F

    Our “formal” Camino is done. Sean and I received our compostelas (diplomas) both for the halfway and full journey and we have returned home safely where we are catching up on our sleep.

    So, what did we take away from our Camino?

    My goals were to draw closer to God, draw closer to Sean, and to have a grand adventure. And all of those goals were met and exceeded long before we ended our trek. What I did not expect was the friendships that we made along the way; especially Brian and Michelle Coleman, Brandon from Houston, Lucas and Maria from Brazil, Richard “the Gentle Giant” from Los Angeles, and many others whose names I have either forgotten or never knew.

    Sean’s goal was to be there for me and boy did he meet and exceed that goal! He was as patient and faithful a companion as I could have asked for and I would never have gotten as far as I did or enjoyed the journey as much as I did without his presence.

    Most pilgrims will tell you that the Camino is a reflection of life. It has many of the same qualities: ups and downs (quite literally!), joys and sorrows, successes and failures, surprises and disappointments. But it is also much quieter than life. No trash to take out, no work to go to or deadlines to meet. Mostly void of the rush of traffic and the noise of cities. It is a time to slow down and reflect.

    Sean and I were blessed to have this time together and I suspect that as we gain distance from our journey we will find that we have gained knowledge and insights that we don’t yet recognize. I pray that’s true.

    We have many people to thank. Nancy for supporting our going and for handling many logistical details for my dialysis. Harrison for handling some travel details when we found ourselves without a way home when we ended earlier than expected. My nephrologist for supporting this effort. The people who followed this blog and offered encouragement along the way—it was greatly appreciated! And most especially, God, for answering many, many prayers and for giving us the strength, endurance, and wisdom that we asked and prayed for.

    We all walk the Camino. Every day. It may not be as quiet as the one we experienced but we still have the opportunity to draw closer to God, draw closer to the ones we love and to support them, to have a grand adventure, and to be blessed with friends and as friends.

    I wish each of you Buen Camino and pray that God blesses your journey and your pilgrimage in life!
    Read more