Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    CHAOS TO TORTUGUERO

    December 27, 2023 in Costa Rica ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    After oversleeping and two tries I made it to the right bus stop. The first bus had no seats left, so I had to sit on the floor for 2 hours. I meditated and slept a little. Then I thought about life and why I decided to pack my disinfectant in the other bag, which had been loaded in the trunk. Nevertheless I started eating rice crackers hoping for the best.

    The second bus was leaving from a different terminal, which we were shittled to by another public bus.
    Couldn’t pay this one though because they needed cash. On the way to an ATM I found a little shack at the side of the road that sold SIM cards on the street.
    Very friendly people: a lady who organised it and tried to explain everything in very slow Spanish. We both laughed when we realized that this was not going to work. Another guy who spoke English well and who I talked to exchanging short stories about travels and family. He said ElSalvador was cleaned up by the government and is safe to travel now.
    “Cleaned up?” I asked
    “Yes all with tattoos in jail”, he answered.
    “In jail or killed” I asked.
    “Yes, very safe now”, he answered.
    We both nodded and after some silence the lady with the SIM card waved me towards her. My phone on the table.
    “10000 Colones”- I have her 20000 and everyone stared at me, followed by a big laugh and “Gringa!”.
    I didn’t have any small money, though 10000C is around 17€.
    She smiled and walked off with the money to get some change and activate the SIM card.
    “How long?” I said, a bit concerned I won’t get any change back.
    “Fast! 20 minutes.”

    Shit my bus! I ran to the ATM to at least have more money and asked the guy to wave at any bus passing. No bus came. But the lady was back after 15’, set up my phone and off I went running towards the bus station. No bus in sight.

    Then the second bus driver with a car: “THERE you are! I was looking for you!”
    I jumped in the car with my luggage and we drove behind the bus until we reached it, I gave him the money (5€ for a 2hour bus plus a 1,5h bus ride all together).

    I made it! 🎉
    Read more