Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 18

    Burgos - Day 1

    September 22, 2022 in Spain ⋅ 🌙 66 °F

    Started our day before the sun was up which is the new normal. It really is beautiful walking out of silent villages with a headlamp and then getting to see and hear the day awaken as you walk. I thought it would be hard to wake up and get out so early but you do have the help of 12-20 other people snoring through the night to encourage you to be up and out 😂.

    The first thing was a good climb to a wonderful vista and downhill for the balance of the walk into Burgos. At 10 miles my ankle said enough was enough and I caught the free city bus from the edge of town. I did wave to Peg as we buzzed by a few blocks later. The plan was to rest my foot but I ended up walking back from the center of town to guide Peg in likely adding another 3-4 miles to the day.

    We are in town for two nights and had a great evening meeting up with friends we haven’t seen for a couple of days, most importantly Helen and Mike who have invited us for a visit to Dublin on our way home! Tomorrow we are tourists for the day in Burgos.
    Read more