Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    The graveyard, Ibsen and the river

    September 5, 2018 in Norway ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    People by themselves doing their things in peace and solitude. Sunbathing, reading, listening to music, thinking. This is Oslo’s graveyard population. Nature and vast spaces makes it great for a sunny day like today. Munch and Ibsen are buried here.

    I came across Ibsen during this trip, and fell in love with what I heard about him. I will read some of his writings sometimes soon but I hope to actually attend a play! Irreverent, sharp and provocative. Poverty, psychological problems, and social rules are the main themes. His grave has a hammer symbol, representing the society falsity breaker.

    After the graveyard, I head towards the river where I find a thriving community of artists. Greenhouses cafes, riverside wooden meetup points, graffiti and street art. Oslo rules!
    Read more