Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 100

    Capanno di Citerna

    June 29, 2023 in Italy ⋅ ☀️ 20 °C

    This was a kind of interesting experience at the evening. Pretty late in the evening, probably around 8pm, we've reached the closed Refugio Fontanelle. It's open only on weekends. But they have prepared it so nice for using it as a Bivacco. There is a separate room and they have had light and a plug for electricity. And fountain in front of the hut (with none drinkable water...well "actually it was drinkable"). I've only charged the phone and fed Lupo. The funny thing was, that before reaching the hut I have had a gusto for red wine. Cause I have read in the description of the hut, that they sell coffee and wine. But actually it was closed. But in the Bivacco, they have left the leftover of the red wine in a 5l plastic bottle. That's often in bivaccos. So I finally got some wine. Well...probably I have a little bit too much. I wanted to reach the nice and clean Capanno di Citerna and hiked further....and then the fun began! The wine showed its result and on the tricky trail steep downhill the earth was really turning around. I was talking a lot with Lupo and really took care about every step I've done. Roots everywhere. But finally there was this gorgeous viewpoint with fantastic views with an evening scenery. Only some minutes later I've reached the cabana and we've immediately got ready for the need sleep.

    43.000 steps - 31.3km
    Read more