Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 41

    Ushuaia

    March 15, 2017 in Argentina ⋅ ⛅ 8 °C

    So what is the bottom of the world like? It's a great place to visit to say you've been but it's not somewhere you want to stay for a long time - very cold and VERY expensive.

    I only wanted to spend 2-3 days here but ended up staying longer than expected because the buses don't run everyday and the one I wanted was full. Over the course of my time in Ushuaia I did manage to get a feel for the place as the southern most city in the world.

    I celebrated my 24th birthday in Ushuaia too - that day on I went on a tour across the Beagle Channel to see sea lions and walk with penguins. We had to get a tiny motor boat to the penguin island where we saw different types of penguins including king penguins and also Magellanic penguins. They are so cute - and we got to get up really close to their nests and take photos.

    On the other days I went to the prison museum which, as you can imagine, is a pretty bleak place. I also decided to put my hiking skills to the test and climbed Glacier Martial which is 825 metres above. The hike was 25km in total and took me about 4 hours. The weather that day was particularly bad, the wind blew me off my feet and onto the floor at one point because it was so forceful. When I reached nearer the top it started to sleet and snow really badly but the view from the top was well worth it.

    Next stop is... 🇨🇱 CHILE! 🇨🇱 Punta Arenas for one night before I catch the bus to Puerto Natales so I can do the W trek of Torres del Paine.
    Read more