Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 90

    La Paz

    May 3, 2017 in Bolivia ⋅ ☀️ 14 °C

    La Paz is a big, sprawling, chaotic mess - it's a really cool city but I stayed here too long and there isn't tonnes to do.

    The first few days I was so sick off the altitude that I was basically bed-bound and couldn't really eat or move without feeling really dizzy. After recovering, I went to the tour agency to book the Pampas Tour from Rurrenabaque for when my dad arrives and also did a bit of life admin, cos travelling isn't always beers and beaches.

    The third day I finally did some touristy stuff and did the walking tour and the witches market which was really interesting. Bolivia is a really cool and culturally interesting/ progressive country so it was good to find out more. There are also loads of really good vegan and vegetarian restaurants and we went to Namas Te which did tasty food.

    In the evening, our hostel (Wild Rover - where basically every English person stays) did a karioke night which was actually hilarious. We got a group to sing 500 miles by the Proclaimers and everyone joined in. After we went out to a few bars and ended up getting home at around 4am.

    The next day we were all feeling pretty rough so Charlie, Sadie, Ali and I went to Mercado Lanza for the best £1 sandwiches ever and juice. This was honestly my saviour as I was feeling pretty bad. We then had a film day in the TV room and watched Moana, Harry Potter, 50 Shades of Black but unfortunately not Mulan (the running joke for the day). I was knackered so I went to bed pretty early and I wanted to feel fresh cos my Dad was arriving in La Paz the next day.

    The next day I went to meet my Dad at the hotel we were staying at for the next couple of days. I was so excited to see him as it had been just under 3 months since I left England! I was worried he was going to be dying from the altitude just like I was, but actually apart from being tired and a bit out of breathe he was on pretty good form. We had a walk around the city centre and got some food before going back for a rest in the hotel. The hotel is SO nice - such a treat after staying in hostels/ tents/ overnight buses for the last 3 months. In the evening we went for more veggie/ vegan food at a place called Magick which was really nice.

    The last day of La Paz we got the cable cars all around the city. This was nice because you really got to see all of the city, from the quite rich Western parts to the poorer parts at the top of the city near El Alto. Even though it's not exactly a pretty city, the views are pretty spectacular. After we went got some lunch and juice at Mercado Lanza and then chilled in the hotel for the afternoon because Dad was still adjusting and also it started to rain quite heavily. In the eve we went out for food at Ali Pacha which is one of the best restaurants in Bolivia. It's insane how cheap it was - we got a 3 course meal for 100 bolivianos which is the equivalent of £11. The food was so beautifully decorated, it was like something you'd see on Masterchef. Each course came out and we were explained all the different ingredients and flavours. It's nice to push the boat out and spend a bit more sometimes.

    All in all, La Paz is a cool city with some really amazing restaurants. I spent a bit too long here, and didn't do things like Death Road or Valle de La Luna, which maybe I should of done if I had got my act together a bit quicker. But in all fairness, I don't really mind because I've already done so much stuff on my trip that to miss out on 1 or 2 things doesn't bother me that much. Anyways peace out La Paz - you big chaotic sprawling mess ✌🏼
    Read more