Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 138

    Bocas del Toro

    June 20, 2017 in Panama ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    One 4x4 jeep, two taxis, two dominos, two buses and two boats later (and 12 hours) we finally arrived in Bocas Del Toro.

    The first place we were staying was Bambuda Lodge on Isla Solarte which has a slide into the sea. It was a really cool place and we spent the first day just chilling by the pool.

    The second and third day it rained for two days straight torrentially and we were stuck at the lodge (ironic because it was the hottest day of the year in London). We just played jenga and scrabble and drank. On the third day when it eventually stopped raining we moved over to Isla Colon which is the main island to Selina's. We went out for food and had the BEST tacos ever and a beer or two.

    That night Iz and I made dinner and just had a few drinks but nothing big because it was filthy Fridays the next day (and also Izzy's last day in Panama 😭).

    Filthy Fridays is a big bar crawl which basically every backpacker in Bocas goes to. You go to three bars which are on different islands. I won't go into too much detail but it was very messy. It was also really sad because half way through Iz and I had to say goodbye to each other because she had to go and get her flight to Panama City.

    I had such a nice time travelling with her, we really did have the holiday of a lifetime in the San Blas islands, and loads of fun in Bocas even despite the weather.

    The next day I was barely human so moved into a private room in an apartment on the other side of the island and watched Netflix and had no human interaction all day (much needed).

    The day after I met Tom and we got the shuttle to across the border into Costa Rica. I did Panama pretty quickly (two weeks in total) but it was time to leave because I had spent a sickening amount of money in 14 days (especially seeing as we did barely anything for a lot of it).

    I had an amazing time in Panama - especially in the San Blas which was a highlight of my life - but I'm going to have to be pretty frugal going forwards to try and balance myself out again financially.
    Read more