Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 78

    Ubeda to Córdoba

    May 26, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 82 °F

    Our 2.5 hour bus ride from Úbeda to Córdoba gave us plenty of time to reflect on what has and has not worked for us on this trip. A quick summary:

    Worked well:
    - The Tenacious Tape I brought in our mending kit. It repaired the rip I put in the knee of my only pair of trousers when I fell on the second day of walking, and it is still in perfect shape.
    - hand sanitizer for getting pine pitch out of trousers and off of pack surface.
    - Enlightened Equipment sleeping quilts with half-inch baffles - no cold spots
    - bike sun sleeves for me
    - Pacas socks made from alpaca wool - so soft they make walking a joy! Thanks, Diane!
    - Patagonia lightweight fleece pullovers
    - Ibex lightweight wool shirts
    - low-cut Lone Peak trail shoes for Ned
    - low-cut Brooks Divide trail shoes with lace keepers for me
    - the Decathlon poles we bought to replace our Black Diamond poles that BA didn’t deliver
    - super-lightweight EVA sandals (6 oz, $10 from Amazon)
    - Sunday Afternoon sun hat with neck cape
    - Apple Air Tags in luggage and valuables pouches

    Would have been nice to have:
    -fingerless bike gloves for me to protract the palms of my hands when I fell
    - stick sunscreen (it was in the mailing tube that British Airlines never delivered)
    - an ultralight 4 oz daypack for grocery shopping and walks around town. Could double as a stuff sack for the quilts.

    What didn’t work;
    - Tube sunscreen - always messy
    - our Lone Peak 6 mid-height trail boots gave both of us severe ankle problems, although we have loved the earlier versions of this hiking boot and have worn them on many previous trips
    - multi-focal prescription glasses; worked for me before cataract surgery, but contributed to my falls on this trip
    - long shoe laces without lace keepers; also contributed to falls
    - packing our poles in a mailing tube. Standard luggage would have been easier for the airline to deal with, and maybe they would have arrived at the same time we did.
    Read more