Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 20

    Great Smokies part 2

    November 13, 2017 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 1 °C

    I drove into the North Carolina part of the park today. Super pretty drive. I talked to the ranger to see what hikes she recommends and she might be the nicest person I've ever met. She was super sweet and told me all my options to which I said "great that's perfect" she said "yes it is. Today is going to be a great day." She was right. It was so nice out all day. I did the first hike she recommended which was really nice. This place is gorgeous. Then I went to do the second hike place. She said to go half way up the mountain and there will be a great blue. But these are the great smokies so it was so densly fogged you couldn't see anything. And then I talked to some people coming down from the summit and they said it was definitely worth it. So I kept trucking on. They were right. The view from up there was spectacular. I'm glad I did it but by the time I got back I had walked 14 miles, much of it up hill. My feet hurt so bad when I got back to the car. My body will not feel good tomorrow. People on this trip have been so nice. From the super cheery lady at the cheese shop in Wisconsin to Peggy being an awesome host to everyone saying hello when you pass them on the trail. A lady today said "hi there! Have a nice hike!" In a way that made me think she genuinely really wanted me to have a good time. Anyway I am so exhausted and achy I'm about to pass out so early.

    More adventures tomorrow!
    Read more