Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 298

    Photo Session

    February 17, 2020 in Saudi Arabia ⋅ ☁️ 24 °C

    16/2/20
    Driving on the desert highway towards Riyadh there are camels or better dromedary everywhere. Here they come in different colours, from white to nearly black. For a camel lover like me this is really exciting. To keep the camels off the highway there are fences erected on either side only interrupted by some gates here and there.
    So many camels, that the the traffic is bound to be stopped at some time to drive the camels home, as it happened today.
    Unfortunately I was quite a way back in the queue and as I did not want to miss out on all the action I drove on the right side past the lined up trucks until I had front row.
    The cars were stopped on both directions of the 4 laned highway and the Bedouins were driving the camels across by foot and with utes. The first Bedouin saw me and straight away made photos of myself and the dog. A Ute was coming across the middle stripe of the h’way wanting to see what was going on and as soon as he saw me, or the dog, or me and the dog, his jaw dropped (no exaggeration) and his eyes became as big as saucers (some exaggeration to get the point across) and he started to photo away. By now the truck drivers became curious as well, wanted to know what all the commotion was about and soon they came from all directions.
    By now the camels were well and truly across the road but the traffic did not start moving until everybody was satisfied with the photos they had taken. Apart from me. I was too amused to think of making a photo of my photo takers.
    Read more