Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Windiest and coldest place in

    September 25, 2018 in Ireland ⋅ 🌬 12 °C

    We fell asleep early the previous evening and eventually stirred around 8am. Breakfast is available from 8:30 so we get ready, MDW still wearing her prescription sunglasses as we have to wait until we return to Dublin to pick up her proper everyday glasses. Breakfast is good, but we are soon on our way to the Giants Causeway. This is something I regretted not visiting last time we were in Ireland. The Giants Causeway is near Bushmills which is actually in Northern Ireland so it is in the UK, there’s a little bit of useless information for you. We enter the National Heritage site and see it is going to cost £12 each to see the Causeway. MDW is astounded we are paying to see some rocks. This is not going to go well. We get our tickets and wait at the top of a fairly steep decline for the bus (which also costs). After waiting for about 5 minutes MDW, not being the most patient person, says we might as well walk down, so off we go, with our audio guide placed against our ears. Let me tell you, it is windy, a bit drizzly and freezing cold. On the way down we come across an opening in the rock exposing us (according to audio guide) to the coldest place in Ireland, well technically the UK. It was the coldest I have been for as long as I can remember. We continue walking and MDW is making good time. We eventually arrive at the Causeway. MDW has done well considering her bad back but we will get the bus back to the top. MDW does ask “if this is it”. She is not impressed but I start to clamber up one section of rocks until a whistle is blown by one of the guides telling me to get down, too slippery, but I was unaware it was me being reprimanded. Eventually I heard MDW tell me to get down, and when MDW speaks I obey. What a crock of $#!+ MDW says. With my tail between my legs I get down and walk out towards the water and then up some of the safer areas. I was impressed by this interesting rock formation but was ready to catch the bus back to the top. Once in the car we had a dilemma. I haven’t booked anywhere to stay until we get back to Dublin so we aren’t sure where to head. I want to drive along the Wild Atlantic Way for some of our Ireland holiday but not the whole 2500 miles. I’m thinking the coast road from Sligo to Galway would be enough. We head off towards Sligo and stop at Londonderry where we look at our accommodation options, maybe in Londonderry itself. After looking at the accomodation available we decide to stay at Letterkenny at a lovely upmarket hotel. First I have a stroll around part of the walled city of Londonderry whilst MDW looks in the shops. We meet up and make the short trip to Letterkenny. Letterkenny has the longest Main Street in Ireland, another interesting titbit of information. As we hadn’t had lunch we decided on take away for dinner. We got in the car and MDW found her glasses in the back of the car. The question now is who owns the glasses being held for me in Dublin.Read more