Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 106

    Tam Coc Boat Trip

    April 25 in Vietnam ⋅ ⛅ 34 °C

    Ninh Binh. This place has been high on my bucket list for a very long time. Beautiful images of soaring karst formations emerging from rice fields, a ribbon of water winding its way through the green dotted with tiny boats. These images had captured my imagination.

    Today I was on one of these small boats. Teaming up with a young Dutch traveller to form a party of two for the two hour journey there and back along one of Ninh Binh’s many waterways, and through three caves. The boat was rowed as promised by a man using his feet to control the oars. I had read a dodgy review which had caused me some concern, about aggressive touting but happily this didn’t occur.

    The experience was everything I expected.

    For dinner we went to the Main Street. Numerous restaurants offering local beer for 30 cents, and half spit roast duck for $8.00. Best duck we have had in a long time. (Excluding Hoi An) 🙂
    Read more