Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Day 2

    May 26, 2018 in Brazil ⋅ ⛅ 25 °C

    I arrived at the airport of Rio in the early morning. I met a guy which organized an Uber for me. Originally I have planned to take the bus, but that was also fine. The driver dropped me at my hostel: Che Lagarto Copacabana. First thing I did was taking a shower. The earliest Check-in time was 2 PM, so I went for a walk in the Copacabana neighbourhood and also on the beachside. Afterwards I booked a tour: Parallel to the Champions League final was the match Fluminense vs Chapocoense in the famous Maracanã stadium (which I wanted to see already a long time ago). Chapocoense is the club which lost almost their whole team due to a plane crash two years ago. They had to buy a lot of new players and they are doing quite well. Although the stadium was not even full to a fourth of its capacity the fans made a lot of noise and were singing the whole 90 minutes. As Fluminense won 3:1 at the end the 14.500 were celebrating a lot. Pure passion for the sport :-) In the evening I went to the flat of Maira. Some friends were over and we had dinner. When I got back to the hostel I fell into my bed as I was incredibly tired.Read more