Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    About last night...

    September 16, 2022 in Portugal ⋅ ☀️ 19 °C

    So last night's mystery dinner was called prego no pao a Invicta - some kind of steak and ham sandwich smothered in cheese and spicy...sauce? Gravy? I dunno, but freaking delicious and if I continue to eat like this, despite walking 300 miles I will come back with an extra 20 pounds. 😂

    Last night after dinner, I made my way through the throngs of people - couples, singletons, tour groups - down to the Duoro River.

    It was spectacularly beautiful, and a time of both happiness and sadness as I took in the sounds: the laughter of people having dinner together, the clink of silverware on plates, the gentle lapping of the river against its walls. The dark water reflected the night lights and I saw the city from the opposite bank, upside down and blurry but discernible. Trains passed each other going opposite directions on the Louis I bridge.

    A busker stood with his mic and guitar singing Leonard Cohen's "Hallelujah." I sat alone, feet dangling meters over the river, and listened to his melancholy but passionate rendition of the song.

    I took it all in, and didn't realize I was crying until a tear plopped my hand (at least it wasn't snot!) I felt the power this trip had in store for me, the healing... A hint of the peace and strength to come.
    Read more