Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Faith in humanity restored!

    April 23, 2023 in Slovenia ⋅ ⛅ 21 °C

    A bit convoluted this one, but bear with me.
    So after a lovely walk up to the castle and back around to the city, we came across a lovely little street. We sat down for a beer at a local bar and ended up staying for a couple. We got talking to a few young locals who were sat there, playing chess and having a drink. We watched them play and then paid up and went over to a restaurant over the road for some lunch.
    Ten minutes into the meal the bar tender from over the road came in and said that I had left 10 euros on the bar, and passed it on to me. It turns out that he was a friend of the girl we were talking with and she told him that we had crossed the road to the restaurant.
    So after the meal we went back to the bar and I asked if I could buy them both a drink for their kindness. So he poured some shots for us all! It was like firewater, but great fun.
    This occurrence just reinforces my opinion about how lovely the people of Slovenia, and indeed their country, really are. What a fabulous few days.
    Read more