Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Exploring Sheridan

    May 1, 2016 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 57 °F

    We enjoyed driving around Sheridan, and loved it's geographic setting at the feet of the Bighorn Mountains. They have a beautiful YMCA, so Gordon wanted to workout ... AGAIN! I didn't feel up to it yet, especially as my foot has been really bothering me lately (strained in tango class before we left). However, I was sure I could find SOMEthing to do.

    Well, the helpful young man at the desk gave us a pass to the "premium" locker rooms. I don't think he was supposed to, but when I saw that beautiful hot tub I knew I was in the right place. While soaking, I had a good conversation with a local resident, Flavia, whose family is from Sheridan, but who had lived most of her life in Brazil, France, Florida and other places. We compared life in Sheridan and Olympia, both of us loving many things about our beautiful cities, but both bemoaning a toxic political mono-culture: Sheridan's on the right, Olympia's on the left. Both of us were a little shocked to hear it was the same on both ends of the spectrum.

    The conversation left me a bit chastened. Is there anywhere left where folks can respectfully disagree and still be good friends and neighbors?

    But the soak was just what I needed, and my foot felt really really good the whole time I was in the tub. Gordon ran 2 miles, but didn't gloat so I guess it's ok.
    Read more