Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 133

    Milan to Porto Santo Stephano

    March 9, 2017 in Italy ⋅ ⛅ 61 °F

    Along the way we passed by the marble quarries at Carrara. Unfortunately my photo of the mountain side doesn't show the multitude of quarries that we could see with our eyes. Then we passed by the industrial area with stacks of quarried marble. I exclaimed to Heather "look at all that marble." But did I think to get a photo of a marble yard? I did, but not until we we out of the large yards. I did get a photo of a small yard, so I count myself fortunate.

    The mountains along the route were very spectacular. I did not know that Italy had such pointy peaks south of the Alps.

    Along the drive the scenery turned into lovely Tuscan landscapes.

    The photo of Heather was taken when we were flagging and getting tired. The espresso is so strong that it feels like taking a drug. But after that one espresso, we were ready to continue on our way.
    Read more