Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 34

    Breakfast at the Artesian restaurant

    September 19, 2019 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 72 °F

    We enjoyed our dinner so much, we could see no reasonable alternative but to check out the breakfast menu. I have bad news for our friend Carole who appears to be wondering about the cost of all this good eating, but GOOD news for my sister Bonnie who sat with me at the feet of our Scottish grandfather when he opined, “You cannae be a-dietin’ on vacation.” And what was I to do in the face of blue corn and piñon nut pancakes with real maple syrup? Well, what?! Thank you grandpa Nicoll!

    After breakfast, we rolled over to check out the gift shop, because you never know. Gordon bought me some of the yummy Ojo brand Desert Sage body care products which I had tried in the spa and loved. (Come on ... no I didn’t EAT them! Though I suppose I couldn’t blame you if you thought I did.) Then we found a real score! A t-shirt that is long enough for Gordon (in a lovely shade of Heather green I might add). This is rare. Gordon is 7 inches taller than I am, and we can wear the same jeans. So now he is a prince of spa fashion, and I smell great!

    At the cash register we must have been giddy with our purchases. The young saleswoman asked if we were married. I asked, “Why, do we act like an old married couple?” “No,” she replied. “I’d put you down more as honeymooners.” Well, giddy is as giddy does, I guess.
    Read more