Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Krn

    August 4, 2022 in Slovenia ⋅ ☀️ 27 °C

    So far today I've been following a stage of the Alpe Adria trail, which actually stretches from Austria's highest peak, Grossglockner, all the way to the Adriatic. On the ascent up to the first viewpoint, I was tempted to turn back and follow the easier Juliana trail through the valley, but I hate the feeling of getting to the end of the day and knowing you've taken the easiest choice. So in spite of the peak 33°C heat, coming down with some sort of snotty illness overnight, having dead powerbanks, uncomfortable encounters with two large black snakes, and hauling all my gear, I have ascended up about 700m to the village of Krn, in the shadow of its namesake mountain, which is somehow a further 1400m up.Read more