Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 23

    Mons

    July 1, 2023 in Belgium ⋅ ☁️ 16 °C

    Day 22:
    Distance: 32.43 km (713.62 km)
    Steps: 46,963 (1,024,400)
    Move time: 7h32 (164h17)
    Spend: £38.36 (£323.97)

    Peruwelz to Mons.

    Skies holding firm? Well, the universe clearly had other ideas. Ever since I used that phrase yesterday, I brought an inevitably soggy fate upon myself today as the rain sliced down throughout the night and continued to splatter throughout the day. When you are practically living outside, the weather can really dictate your life; there's little avoiding the fact that rain really just does make everything harder. It's all fun and games in flawless weather at the top of some pristine mountain somewhere, but when it's hurling down as you're navigating grey Belgian industrial estates, it's that which really makes you question what series of events even led you to this point in life. So I'll blame that for my lethargy. Sure as day turns to night though, I've made my way into Mons, the attractive capital of Hainaut, where after calculating the optimal price to calorie ratio of Belgian McDonalds, I took an evening meander to cool off the day.

    P.S. Oh, and the Belgians bloody love a well trimmed bush (and some good mural art too), what's up with that?
    Read more