Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 24

    Charleroi

    July 2, 2023 in Belgium ⋅ ☁️ 21 °C

    Day 23:
    Distance: 37.44 km (751.06 km)
    Steps: 52,718 (1,076,718)
    Move time: 7h52 (172h09)
    Spend: £21.06 (£345.03)

    Mons to Charleroi.

    The most Sunday of Sundays. And by that, I mean I went for a walk, I fell asleep on a bench, and I even wandered into a church service. Other than that, there wasn't too much Sunday about today really; unless, of course, you tend to walk obsessively next to the motorway on your days off. But sometimes you just gotta do what you gotta do. And just as I thought I'd finally reached some characterful terrain with the emergence of distant hills as well, you know what they were? Slag heaps. And if that doesn't tell you everything you need to know about Belgium's 4th largest city, then I don't know what will. The approach to Charleroi was littered with the remnants of decades-old decaying industry: towering factories, capacious warehouses, and rust infested ghost towns. It was actually fascinating to observe though, even if I had no idea what it was that I was even looking at half the time. Tonight, another hostel; tomorrow, push on in the direction of Dinant.Read more