Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 32

    Saarlouis

    July 10, 2023 in Germany ⋅ ☀️ 27 °C

    Day 31:
    Distance: 41.48 km (1,046.91 km)
    Steps: 57,868 (1,495,246)
    Move time: 8h43 (238h09)
    Spend: £0.00 (£466.74)

    🇱🇺🇪🇺 Schengen to Saarlouis. 🇩🇪

    It was business as usual today as I found my zen while slapping my Merrell soles against the mostly smooth German tarmac, all the way to Saarlouis. It was also my first day fully immersed in the joys of the German language too; an early thought being that the very word 'Polizei' strikes fear into my heart like no other (hopefully just a side effect of watching Jason Bourne, and not a sign of things to come.) Anyhow, some might maintain that this trek is still tame; low-level and amongst civilisation. But to them, I'd say that those challenges aren't necessarily greater; they are simply different. Whilst I'm really looking forward to reaching the mountains, I can only hike what's in front of me, and the integrity of this trip is paramount to me. If I failed to place a single step between Bath and Istanbul (or wherever I may end up) with my own two feet, then personally I'd consider this adventure tainted, and well, a failure. Anyway, that was basically an array of random thoughts, but long story short: I'm still loving it! The difficulties in a day make for interesting moments to record and hopefully to read about, but ultimately, every day has its rewards, and to live simply is to live, well, happily:))Read more