Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 33

    Saarbrücken

    July 11, 2023 in Germany ⋅ ☁️ 32 °C

    Day 32:
    Distance: 25.80 km (1,072.71 km)
    Steps: 36,429 (1,531,675)
    Move time: 5h53 (244h02)
    Spend: £6.71 (£473.45)

    🇩🇪 Saarlouis to Saarbrücken. 🇩🇪

    Jesus christ, do you see the size of that thing?! I thought this was urban Germany, not the Seren-fucking-geti. Eine lange schlange indeed. At 34°C though, the worst trouble of the day came again in the form of the heat. And you know what they say, if you can't handle the heat then get out the kitchen. So I did. Except in my case, the kitchen is, well... the direct sunlight? I mean, look at me, I'm a pasty white ginger boy, I practically burn from turning on the oven. So yes, the distance today might be a little disappointing, but frankly, who cares when you have the pleasure of being hosted by Tobias to look forward, my first host from couchsurfing: a man with real style and chharm, having lived madnesses such as solo kayaking the Yukon and owning an entire library's worth of vinyl records. Kindnesses don't come much greater as I've even been served dinner, and allowed the pleasure of cracking open a cold one with him. And just as well btw, as a hailstone spewing storm has come menacing over. Big thanks to the Begemann family!Read more