Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 36

    Haguenau

    July 14, 2023 in France ⋅ ☀️ 28 °C

    Day 35:
    Distance: 32.63 km (1,173.15 km)
    Steps: 45,658 (1,674,473)
    Move time: 6h56 (266h34)
    Spend: £7.74 (£501.27)

    🇫🇷 Dambach to Haguenau. 🇫🇷

    "Give every day the opportunity to become the best day of your life." That was the last thing one girl told me after rejecting me during the talking phase once. Now, that's a weird thing to start with writing about for today, but every now and again, the quote crosses my mind. Sure, maybe you're the type of person to read it and think 'what a load of shit'; but then it's easy to judge when you're a miserable person yourself. I think: that to be able to see beyond whatever hardships you may have faced, to cultivate the good in your life is surely the gift of mindset. You never need some specific weather, nor to be in some specific place; not even to be with some specific someone, to get the most out of your day, any day. One thing I've learnt is that the only true disability in life is a bad attitude; whatever limits you thought you had, whatever holds you back, there's nothing that positivity wouldn't do wonders for. Spread only positivity, and some of it might just make its way back to you. Sorry, you might be reading this expecting that I've had some great obstacle to overcome today: but no, just some thoughts. Today was actually pretty good; so I found out that it was Bastille day here; what the hell is that? Well, apparently, it's essentially the national day of France, as per the fireworks popping off around me right now. To rewind a bit, though; this morning, I saw off the final ascents of the rogue Vosges and have since toured a series of little French villages, all characterised by their pretty timbered buildings. A final forest run-in led me to this cheerful campsite, where I got to enjoy the pool! Tomorrow, I finally say goodbye to the Grand-Est, and France itself at that!Read more