Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 38

    Baden-Baden

    July 16, 2023 in Germany ⋅ ⛅ 23 °C

    Day 36 (& 37: Rest day)
    Distance: 43.40 km + 8.37 km (1,224.92 km)
    Steps: 61,038 + 12,211 (1,747,722)
    Move time: 9h17 + 2h05 (277h52)
    Spend: £42.71 + £36.15 (£580.13)

    🇫🇷 Haguenau to Baden-Baden. 🇩🇪

    Time really flies, huh. I can't believe it's been 3 days since I last wrote something. Remembering back, the road to Baden-Baden was a bit of an ordeal, 43 km in 34°C heat was not the most fun I've had in years. And they'd have you believe they're best friends these days btw, but there's there's little coincidence that there are so many military camps around the French-German border; honestly, they've got to be my least favourite thing to be anywhere near to. Anyway, following the trip's one and only crossing of the Rhine, I decided to take a rest day after reaching Baden-Baden. Why did I wait until Baden-Baden? Well, I've walked from England's most famous spa town and ended up in Germany's! 'Baden' means quite literally 'to bathe', and for that, I needed no second invitation, in spite of the town's name. So yes, on my rest day, I headed to the spa, actually in the smaller nearby (and cheaper) town of Bad Herrenalb, where I'd managed to find a place to stay. I have no idea what it was I actually ended up paying for, but after sampling the lavish saunas, steam rooms, cold pools and who knows what else, I was informed by a member of staff about the strict 'no clothes' rule. Not even swimming trunks. That's right, they literally forced me to get my elephant schnitzel out; what the hell Germany, you perverts. After not really being into that for too long, I headed to the pools and then treated myself to a restaurant dinner, where I endured another horrifyingly German experience, which basically translates to eating in the town square while a man constantly screamed over microphone and handed out sausages?! Never change, Germany. Never change.
    Read more