Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 41

    Hechingen

    July 19, 2023 in Germany ⋅ ☁️ 19 °C

    Day 40:
    Distance: 31.32 km (1,326.75 km)
    Steps: 44,664 (1,892,883)
    Move time: 7h08 (292h38)
    Spend: £9.70 (£629.33)

    🇩🇪 Horb am Neckar to Hechingen. 🇩🇪

    'As you start to walk on the way, the way appears.'

    After a morning spent learning about the perspectives and philosophies of Roman, I took to the path with a renewed spring in my step, warmed by the kindnesses I'd been shown. In fact, the optimism lasted more or less the day through, or at least until I made my arrival in Hechingen. I'd booked to stay in a campsite here, but after arriving at 19:15 and the reception closing at 19:00, I learnt over the phone that I'd have to pay 25€ to stay here, without even access to so much as a toilet! Ridiculous! But honestly, my timing could scarcely have been better, for otherwise, I wouldn't have met Maya. Maya immediately offered to help, allowing me to stay in the awesome trailer house she and her boyfriend had built, where I'd only have to pay the campsite owner 5€. Herself, a kind and enthusiastic geology student; she shared the amazing story how she and her boyfriend had cycled 15,000 km around Europe in 8 months before they'd even started university (makes this journey look pathetic huh, and honestly they're both massive inspirations for that) and then she even proceeded to show off by reciting 100 digits of pi like it was nothing hahah (ok, nerd). For real though, I am so thankful to Maya for her help, even being so kind as to cook me dinner; and she might just have convinced me to stop being a pussy and to just embrace a wildcamp in Germany. I am ever grateful to receive kindness such as I have today.
    Read more