Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 50

    Garmisch-Partenkirchen

    July 28, 2023 in Germany ⋅ ⛅ 21 °C

    Day 49:
    Distance: 30.62 km (1,603.30 km)
    Steps: 43,598 (2,288,807)
    Move time: 6h50 (356h05)
    Spend: £14.60 (£748.96)

    🇩🇪 Brunnenkopfhütte to Garmisch-Partenkirchen. 🇩🇪

    Wow, so much to say about today. I made the steep descent from Brunnenkopfhütte straight back into Linderhof, where I decided to join the other tourists in nosying around King Ludwig's Palace, with its gold gilded rooms exuding opulence; every furnishing adorned with intricate carvings, and lush gardens framed by gentle cascades trickling down the mountainside. Maybe it was just my dismay at having to hear other native English speakers again on the tour, but I don't know how you could ever admire someone like that, someone whose image is so shallow and desires clearly so material, and almost undoubtedly at the detriment to pretty much everyone else around them too. Regardless, I got back stomping for the day, this time back to the foot of the mountains on my way into Garmisch-Partenkirchen. And turning into this valley, oh my. A vast vista unfolded before my eyes, with Zugspitze standing in silent grandeur, exposing its crisp, sheer limestone walls. The alpine backdrop only grew on my approach, too, revealing the *big* Alps of Austria, provoking as much intrigue as they do intimidation. But finally, upon my arrival, I've been fortunate enough to stay with Chris, a top top guy who's lived such an interesting life. He's lived in Germany, Burundi, Pakistan, Botswana; he once even took public transport from Munich to India, but most importantly, he's unbelievably kind and he helped me when he really didn't have to. The help I've received all throughout Germany has honestly been incredible, and I couldn't be more grateful for these experiences.Read more