Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 51

    Klais

    July 29, 2023 in Germany ⋅ ☁️ 19 °C

    Day 50:
    Distance: 25.25 km (1,628.55 km)
    Steps: 35,725 (2,324,532)
    Move time: 5h46 (361h52)
    Spend: £20.30 (£769.26)

    🇩🇪 Garmisch-Partenkirchen to Klais. 🇩🇪

    The distance won't look very impressive on the map today. But then again, success isn't always measured in miles trodden (even if I finally clocked in my first thousand). In fact, it's hard to really say what success means for a mission like this. To me, it comes back to asking myself the meaning of happiness and fulfilment; and I think part of that is overcoming the challenges that befall you any day. Sometimes, it can just be not throwing in the hat. So, while today should've been my final in Germany, I also think, hey, who cares; I'll still end up where I intend to tomorrow night. To explain more, essentially, the heavens opened with full vigour this afternoon, pelting down torrents of rain that'd leave you gasping for air. The type that, if subjected to up the wrong mountain, you'd probably be thankful to get out with your life intact. The next couple of weeks could be a real challenge on that note, with more juicy storms due in for as far as the forecast even extends. My situation is as follows: I find myself in the Alps during peak season, entering an expensive, touristy country with strict enforced anti-wild camping laws, the worst possible weather, not a single plan, and yet the only place to go is upwards, at the very least via some mountain pass. Whatever happens, it's sure to be interesting. Let's rewind a bit though. This morning was a delight to be able to eat breakfast with Chris and his family, for which it's hard to express my thanks for the authenticity and enjoyment it adds to my journey to be able to share with people as great as those which I’ve met in Germany. Leaving my rucksack behind to start the day, the photos you see are mostly from my detour to the drama of Partnachklamm, itself truly an exhibit of art in nature, spewing and spraying its carved passage through a deep ravine. My writing is dragging on a bit here, but following that, I then endeavoured on something of a wild goose chase to find some more gas for my jetboil (which has actually been without fuel for about 2 weeks straight somehow, literally I don't even know what I've been eating), and now I'm seeing out the night and the downpour hidden in a shelter in a children's playpark lol.Read more