Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 53

    Jenbach

    July 31, 2023 in Austria ⋅ ☁️ 14 °C

    Day 52:
    Distance: 32.03 km (1,699.59 km)
    Steps: 45,266 (2,425,961)
    Move time: 7h07 (378h02)
    Spend: £35.07 (£817.49)

    🇦🇹 Falkenhütte to Jenbach. 🇦🇹

    A day of such high highs, and such low lows, and roughly correlating with altitude. The view from the mountain hut dormitory this morning was unbelievably beautiful, and despite probably being the last person to set off for the day out of laziness, I made the arduous ascent up to Lamsenjochhütte in good time, while soaking in the absolute glory of the serene mountain scenery. At the hut, I even stopped to allow myself a beer: a wise decision before taking on the 1,500 metre descent slightly tipsy. These Alps and Austria have already been such a huge highlight, though. It was only when I stopped for a break nearing the valley floor that the euphoria wore off, and upon taking off my boots, I saw the damage done to my feet. My toes red raw and feet agonisingly sore, I could barely shuffle any further. Luckily, I just about made it to Jenbach through gritted teeth, where I managed to catch a bus a kilometre or two onto this campsite in Wiesing. I'm not usually one to believe in fate or the alike, but sometimes I think that if you need something badly enough, it'll find you in your hour of need. So low and behold, I unknowingly arrived here at 18:27, before reception closed at 18:30, and they found me a small corner to pitch my tent for some desperately needed rest. Tomorrow will also likely be a rest day.Read more