Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 56

    Innsbruck

    August 3, 2023 in Austria ⋅ 🌧 18 °C

    Day 55:
    Distance: 31.20 km (1,738.63 km)
    Steps: 43,993 (2,481,866)
    Move time: 6h45 (387h23)
    Spend: £25.91 (£868.62)

    🇦🇹 Schwaz to Innsbruck. 🇦🇹

    Having been kept awake for most of the night by the sound of the unrelenting batter of rainfall against the tent, I caught a bus back to where I last left off, and it was very much back to trampling Earth again. With the cling of the clouds seen from the base of a built-up valley, the views might've taken a dip from a few days ago, but my tarmac gilded route by the autobahn was at least entertained by being interviewed by a journalist from BBC News Points West, so hey that's cool. I actually visited Innsbruck before, a whole 4 years ago now, during an interrailing trip. It's a very pretty city under some chunky peaks, and the me of then would never have seen it coming that I'd one day walk here, coming down from said mountains myself. Anyway, I must again thank a friendly German: Thomas; for being willing to help me at such short notice. He's a true gent, and his passion for the particular burns as bright for his fascination for Fermat's last theorem. He even studied Chemistry while living in Bath back in the day, believe it or not!Read more