Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 65

    Malborghetto

    August 12, 2023 in Italy ⋅ ☀️ 26 °C

    Day 64:
    Distance: 31.84 km (2,032.36 km)
    Steps: 44,858 (2,903,498)
    Move time: 7h14 (456h39)
    Spend: £20.23 (£1,132.44)

    🇮🇹 Bivacco Ernesto Lomasti to Malborghetto. 🇮🇹

    Today, I finally said goodbye to the Karnischer Höhenweg, and having run out of food just at the right time, descended to Sonnenalpe Naßfeld, a sort of ski resort at the top of a mountain pass just on the Austrian side of the border, where I was able to get my fill of calories from an expensive supermarket. A little break later, and I descended in altitude again, this time a kilometre down into Pontebba, a quiet town in the baking Italian valley. Still in need of food, I was hoping to drop into a supermarket, but Italy being Italy, of course everything was closed in the middle of the day for no reason whatsoever. Anyway, what followed was a stretch on another cycle path until calling it a day at Malborghetto, where I was able to hop onto a bus to Dogna, a picteresque village with a cheap and cheerful hostel. Here, I've instead helped myself generously to the free food they put out, showered for the first time in a week, and enjoyed a quiet evening tuning into the return of the Premier League (up the chez! 🍒🍒)Read more