Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 66

    Kranjska Gora

    August 13, 2023 in Slovenia ⋅ ⛅ 23 °C

    Day 65:
    Distance: 33.64 km (2,066.00 km)
    Steps: 47,707 (2,951,205)
    Move time: 7h34 (464h13)
    Spend: £42.36 (£1,174.80)

    🇮🇹 Malborghetto to Kranjska Gora. 🇸🇮

    Slovenija!! Country number 8, and it's only my favourite nation! After catching the bus back to Malborghetto this morning, I stomped onto Tarvisio under the sweltering sun before taking a little detour to explore the violent turquoise waters of Orrido della Slizza. My final farewell to Italy came shortly after an explore of the idyllic Lago di Fusine, and I cracked open local-favourite beer, Laško to celebrate at the border. And just like that, I'm finally in the Balkans! I've always enjoyed the rough around the edges feel to this part of the world, not to mention the joy that is Balkan memes. After setting foot into Kranjska Gora, I caught a bus onto Mojstrana, and am staying overnight in Hostel Lukna: my favourite hostel in my favourite village in my favourite country! Located under the vast Triglav North face, itself one of the largest rock faces in the eastern Alps, at 1400 m high, and over 4 km wide, it just feels like a bit of a home for the soul here for me. In fact, I was here for the first time last summer. Exactly one year and one day later, I'm here again. Except this time, I walked:)
    The next couple will be rest days as I intend to enjoy it!
    Read more