Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 77

    Rijeka

    August 24, 2023 in Croatia ⋅ ☀️ 31 °C

    Day 76:
    Distance: 24.58 km (2,356.92 km)
    Steps: 35,060 (3,366,940)
    Move time: 5h25 (531h49)
    Spend: £43.83 (£1,488.80) (I celebrated a bit)

    🇭🇷 Sklonište Rebar to Rijeka. 🇭🇷

    Exactly two months after last making a splash in the sea, today I finally touched its salty waters once again. From the English Channel to the Adriatic. As a native of a seaside town, I think that means something to me. To add to that, this place means something to me too; watching the sun set with a Croatian beer in hand, my feet in the sea, and with memories of having sat here four years earlier with Thomas and Josh during our interrail. What's more, after 76 days and 1,465 miles of walking, it's finally time for a little bit of a rest, a proper one (and what feels like an overdue one). Tomorrow, my parents fly out to meet me for a little family holiday in Croatia. I know I'm incredibly lucky to have such supportive parents, but I honestly don't know what I'm looking forward to more; being able to finally see them again, or being able to wear a different pair of shorts for the first time in 2½ months! Thanks to all for following up until this point, maybe the rest will give me a chance to write something a little more comprehensive about the journey up until now. But anyhow, I'll be continuing from Rijeka in 10 days time:)Read more