Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 90

    Jablanac

    September 6, 2023 in Croatia ⋅ 🌙 22 °C

    Day 89:
    Distance: 12.38 km (2,505.65 km)
    Steps: 17,814 (3,580,698)
    Move time: 2h52 (570h35)
    Spend: 31.52 (£1,657.02)

    🇭🇷 Ojča to Jablanac. 🇭🇷

    The mental struggle is real. Got to be honest here, I feel like I'm very close to throwing in the hat and continuing next year or something. When I reached Rijeka, it felt like a huge relief of pressure, so to go back to having to try and barely survive every day and force myself into walking all day and every day; it's really not easy, epecially when the only option for walking is along an extremely busy and twisting A-road. Really wasn't in the right headspace to take it on today, and didn't feel safe with all the blind corners, so ended up hitchhiking onto my destination here in Jablanac. Really enjoyed the hitchhiking though; I was picked up by local off-duty police officer Josip, great guy! We spent most of the journey talking about his situationship issues as the beautiful scenery of Velebit passed by. Tomorrow, I think I'll take a ferry over to the island of Rab for some more achievable hiking to make up the distance, and at least mull things over for a while. Something cool about where I'm staying tonight, though: I'm in the lowest altitude mountain hut in the world, at the dizzying height of 26m above sea level! Really cool that this place exists, and some view too.Read more