Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 89

    Ujča

    September 5, 2023 in Croatia ⋅ 🌬 22 °C

    Day 88:
    Distance: 10.34 km (2,493.27 km)
    Steps: 14,987 (3,562,884)
    Move time: 2h30 (567h43)
    Spend: £25.28 (£1,625.50)

    🇭🇷 Senj to Ujča. 🇭🇷

    Write off of a day. Woke up in Klenovica to the sound of hurling winds, but thought nothing of it: that it was just a windy day, even if nothing outside was stood upright anymore. After hitchhiking onto Senj with the help of a Swiss couple in a very fancy Audi, I began to climb up towards the mountains in the Velebit range despite the gusts. As I ascended further and further, the head-on wind only became more and more wicked. You know it's bad when you can barely control the direction of your own feet, or hear the music from your headphones at maximum volume. So, I decided the most sensible action was to turn back and find an alternative, and I've headed to the beach instead. Frustrating, because I was hoping to hike the Premužić trail, but sometimes the world just has other plans for you I guess. It was hard enough just getting to Ujča.

    P.S. I also wanted to give huge props to Max for donating so generously to my fundraiser. We picked up Max as a hitchhiker near to the Bosnian border when my parents were with me, on the way to see an abandoned ex-Yugoslav airbase. So, for Max, a complete stranger to more than repay the kindness we showed him that day when he didn't have to, and to donate that much is really touching. It goes to show that there are kind and great people out there.
    Read more