Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 27

    London - Greenwich & British Museum

    August 27, 2015 in England ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    After Bletchley Park I made my way to stay with Diane and Luke - thanks so much for having me! For my last full day in London I decided to cram in the two things I had been meaning to do but hadn't managed yet: Greenwich and the British Museum. As an added bonus I got to hang out with Diane all day as she came along too (solid effort after coming back from Japan yesterday)!

    To get to Greenwich we took a tour boat down the Thames (pro tip: 50% off voucher is online), providing a different view and commentary on many of the landmarks I'd seen before. Greenwich itself was a nice little town, and it's only a short walk up the hill to the observatory/museum/vantage point where the meridian line (#2) is drawn. I'm still a little hazy on how places claim to be the first in the new day on the west of that line, given that GMT+12 exists...
    The museum/observatory itself was not free(!) and maybe I've been spoiled but it didn't look worth the price.

    On to a much bigger and freer museum, the British Museum. Huge museum with tons to see - kind of an odd selection of artefacts collected from around the world. We were a bit limited on time so we just looked at the Egyptian, Greek, and Japanese sections mostly. The Rosetta stone was crowded but there was a replica in another section that you could actually touch and see up close. Lots of other cool Egyptian stuff like Cleopatra's mummy & coffin. The Greek section was mostly broken pieces of the Parthenon, a bit disappointing after the beautiful marble carvings in the V&A. The building itself had a very unique architecture too.
    Whew, busy last day!
    Read more