Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 46

    Day 35-O'Cebreiro

    October 12, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 64 °F

    We walked 13 miles today. The first 8 were pretty easy but then the rest were straight up a mountain (1800 feet elevation gain). Luckily, the weather was cool most of the time.

    I had a little bad luck with the insects. About an hour into the walk, I inhaled a bug. I had a coughing fit for about 15 minutes. A couple hours later, another bug flew into my mouth but I was able to spit it out. Why they chose me, I'll never know.

    We crossed into the province of Galicia and have 9 walking days and 100 miles left. It's getting more crowded now. There was a group of 50 high school kids at dinner tonight. I'm sure we'll see more of them tomorrow.

    We ended the day in O'Cebreiro and the pictures don't do justice to the views. Also, the church displays a chalice purported to be the Holy Grail. Of course, we had to take a look.
    Read more