Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 25

    Train to Munich

    August 16, 2017 in Germany ⋅ ⛅ 72 °F

    Packed up and headed to the train station way earlier than necessary out of an abundance of caution. Was a little paranoid about making sure I got on the right time this time. It was one of the longer train rides I've taken, and I was starving by the time I got in.

    Luckily there was a beer hall practically immediately outside the station. I had the obligatory pretzel, and enjoyed a dunkel, which was a great choice after all the kölsch in Köln.

    I walked around Munich a bit, seeing Feldherrnhalle, the site of Hitler's beer haul putsch, as well as Marienplatz. I poked my head into Hofbräuhaus, but just to see it -- I'll spend some time there later.

    One thing I wanted to try was real German schnapps, so I made a point of getting some at dinner. So many flavors to pick from! I ended up asking for blackberry, but the language barrier was too much, and he brought a menu with drawings of the fruits to point at. Blackberry was not one of the options, so I ended up with Cherry. It was very subtle, not like the syrup schnapps I've had in the US, so I enjoyed it

    Oddly enough, my hotel is cow themed. Maybe that will make the transition from sabbatical back to wisconsin life a little less jarring?
    Read more