Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    A visit to the Acropolis

    December 23, 2022 in Greece ⋅ ⛅ 14 °C

    After the food tour, we headed for the Acropolis.

    I last visited Athens in 1985 with my friend, Rachel. We were studying in Manchester and, during the summer holidays after our fresher year, we decided to go island hopping in Greece. Luckily, some family friends of mine had recently relocated to Athens so we stayed with them both before and after going around the islands.

    I know I visited the Acropolis that summer but, before today, I had no recollection of it whatsoever! As we made our way up the slopes this afternoon, nothing seemed familiar. I almost convinced myself that I must have been mistaken and that I'd never actually been there before!

    Then, we made it to the top of the steps and got our first view of the Parthenon in all its glory and the memories came flooding back! In my mind's eye, I could see Rachel and I climbing over the ruins and marvelling at the incredible city views!

    For obvious reasons, Joe Public is no longer allowed to clamber over some of the most important monuments in the Western world, but the views are largely the same and the experience of visiting the Acropolis is as breathtaking and awe-inspiring as it was nearly 40 years ago!
    Read more