Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 32

    A dip in the Dead Sea

    January 21, 2023 in Jordan ⋅ ☀️ 22 °C

    After lunch, we were back on the bus for our visit to the Dead Sea. We went to the Holiday Inn resort on the sea shore. It seemed to go against Intrepid's ethos of supporting local businesses. I can only assume that there isn't a locally-owned resort that could grant us access to the Dead Sea.

    I had a float in the Dead Sea back in 1983 when I was in Israel. On this occasion, I was happy to act as group photographer! I did gave a paddle but the salt really stung my feet and ankles. Some of our group covered themselves in Dead Sea mud after their dip. Mark skipped this pleasure 😂.

    We stayed at the resort until sunset 🌇.

    We then travelled on to Madaba and settled in to our last hotel of our Jordan tour. The usual seven of us had dinner together in a local restaurant and a few drinks purchased from the Hangover Liquor Store 😂.
    Read more