Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 34

    Another city, another mosaic class

    January 23, 2023 in Jordan ⋅ ☀️ 14 °C

    After our visit to John the Baptist's shrine, Laura and I went to do a mosaic class just up the road. This was in preference to the out of town place we went to yesterday. Laura had never done it before and, even though I had, it was interesting because it was a different technique to the one Mohammed taught me in Amman.

    We could do whatever design we wanted. Laura chose to write the word 'love' in Arabic. I did another geometric pattern, similar to the one I did before.

    This time, we used a cement made up of 2 parts sand and one part silica. We put a thick layer of this in the frame and then pushed the tiles in it to create the design. When we finished, we levelled it off to give s smooth finish.

    Overall, I think I prefer the technique I learned with Mohammed.

    After the class, we went our separate ways. We spent the rest of the afternoon editing photos 📸 and posting. Later, we went down the road for a bite to eat.
    Read more