Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 25

    St Mawes

    February 26, 2023 in England ⋅ 🌬 7 °C

    St Mawes is where my Mum and Dad came on their honeymoon in May 1964. They stayed at the Ship and Castle Hotel, which still stands in prime position on the quayside.

    We visited the place with them about 20 years ago to recreate a photo taken back in the sixties. We didn't stay long and, if I'm honest, St Mawes didn't make much of an impression on me. This time, despite the cold temperature, the sun was shining and we spent a few hours exploring. I think it's now my new favourite place in Cornwall!!

    We enjoyed the number and variety of independent shops and bought some fig and date and some blood orange 🍊 balsamic vinegars. We also went to the castle 🏰 where we joined English Heritage on a '15 months for the price of 12' deal. I climbed the hill to explore the very simple parish church. We admired the seafront properties and imagined a lottery win to be able to afford one! 🤣😂
    Read more