Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 22

    Onwards and upwards!

    May 7, 2023 on the Seychelles ⋅ ☀️ 28 °C

    We spent our last three days in the Seychelles in and around the apartment. We had intended to have another day at Anse Royale beach ⛱️, but Facebook blocked me from posting to my Happy Days Travel page, so I was trying to sort that out. I didn't get anywhere, unfortunately, so I'll have to post from my personal page for now!

    Yesterday was the King's coronation. We were able to watch the whole thing live through YouTube. What a spectacle!! Nobody does pomp and circumstance like the British. I found the service really moving!

    We took advantage of our last few days with a pool in 30° sunshine 🌞. I did 92, 98, and, finally, 100 lengths! I'm not sure how much swimming we'll be doing in Jo'burg - it's going to be at least 10° cooler there!

    We did most of our packing last night, so it didn't take long to sort out the last few bits this morning. Our taxi driver, Ashley, arrived promptly at 6.30am. He was very well-travelled, so we had a good conversation on the way to the airport 🛫.

    At the airport, we checked in and then had breakfast before going through security. It was all very relaxed! Now, we're sitting in the departure lounge ready for the next chapter of this epic journey to begin!
    Read more