Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Salinas, Ecuador

    December 16, 2016 in Ecuador ⋅ ☁️ 23 °C

    I spent three nights in Salinas a sort of Miami like town (only by the beach) that sits on a Peninsula that reaches the farthest west on the country.

    I was lucky to get to stay with a family through couchsurfing. Skarleth and her mother, sister and brother took good care of me.

    After finally arriving to their place by bus ( I rode the bus the entire route and back because the drive forgot to tell me when to get off) I was welcomed with some good Chinese food and told that that evening the family and friends of theirs would come over to song Christmas songs. I immediately got excited!

    The family came over and they taught the kids the nativity story and sang songs like my favorite Ecuadorian Christmas Song : https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=_Wrc6Q7acME

    The next couple days were very relaxing with a walk to La Chocolatera the most western point in Ecuador, visits to her Abuela (grandma), cooking with her friends on rooftops and one late night in the party beach town Montanita.

    I was also lucky as Skarleth only spoke Spanish with me per my request which helped a lot in learning more!
    Read more